PDA

View Full Version : Michelin Pilot Power 2CT

Geezer
05-10-08, 10:54 PM
Just before I started my current walkabout of Japan, I bought a new set of Michelin Pilot Power 2CT tires. I actually wanted the Pilot Roads, but the guy was out of stock and offered me the Powers at the same price. He said he thinks they're not quite as durable, but stickier. Big selling point, though, is that they're a few kilos lighter, which reduces my unsprung weight. Anyway, I figured I might as well give them a go.

All my previous tires were Bridgestone BTS-020 and -021. I'll be the first to admit that I'm no tire expert, in fact I'm not even a particularly good rider, but man, these Michelins feel good! Took a few hundred kms to get rid of the "greasy" new-tire feel, but now that they've settled in, it's a world of difference. For one thing, they seem to have a "sharper" profile. With the BS tires, I had to force the bike around bends, with quite a bit of counter-steer, but these Michelins require almost no input to turn. The bike just seems to fall into the bend all by itself. And once leaned over, they give plenty of warning as they start to slip. They inspire so much confidence that, for the first time in my life, I have a rear tire with no chicken strips. Never thought I'd see the day! 8)

On the negative side, they're a bit wiggly in the wet, I think; but it could be just my imagination. Maybe the Pilot Roads would have been a better choice. Anyway, no regrets.

As for durability, I don't know yet, but I've put almost 6,000 kms on them so far and I don't see any significant wear. What I have noticed though is that they're not squared off yet. I took a lot of straight roads in Hokkaido, and by now the old Bridgestones would be looking quite square, but these are still round. Seems like they've really got the dual compounds sorted out and balanced.

Anyway, just my 2 yens worth. :roll:

MidnightRun
06-10-08, 03:37 PM
I can second Egon's endorsement.