PDA

View Full Version : Used my Powerlet heated jacket on my commute today... so nice!

Guy Jinbaiquerre
17-11-10, 08:35 AM
Ahh... being warm is good.

I went without heated gear for years and years... wish I'd started using it a long time ago.

Tokyo_Road_King
17-11-10, 09:03 AM
Can I get a good heated jacket for less than 5 man? The problem is that I'm not good at wiring... Should I get a heated jacket that uses lithium batteries instead?

Guy Jinbaiquerre
17-11-10, 09:49 AM
Can I get a good heated jacket for less than 5 man? The problem is that I'm not good at wiring... Should I get a heated jacket that uses lithium batteries instead?
How about less than 3 man?

http://www.apache-r.com/powerlet/shopP01detail.html

Bear in mind that's only for the jacket, not the heat controller or any extra wires or connectors. Jim at Eastern Beaver can hook you up with those:

http://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/Elec__Products/Powerlet/powerlet.html

If you ride out to Jim's place, he'll even wire you up.

Fastbike
17-11-10, 09:57 AM
just go and see Jim he will sort you out..

Guy Jinbaiquerre
17-11-10, 10:56 AM
just go and see Jim he will sort you out..
Nope, Jim stopped selling the jackets and other clothing. He only sells the wires and controllers now.

rdkng103
17-11-10, 11:14 AM
I picked up from Gerbing a Jacket Liner, Gloves, and Dual Element Temp Controller for $470.00 U.S. which is about 38,000yen at today's exchange rate. Takes about 15 minutes to hook up the provided fuze protected power cable directly to your battery terminals. Although I received mine through the Military Postal System, Gerbing will ship to Japan via other methods.

I looked at a pair of Glove Liners at Rough and Road a few weeks ago and they were asking 13,000yen ($162.50 U.S.) for them. Even if you have to pay a Duty on items shipped from Gerbing I'm sure you will still save a considerable sum of $$$.

chozzer
17-11-10, 11:33 AM
Ahh... being warm is good.