Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Numbness in hands while riding.

Default Numbness in hands while riding.

So, being a newb, I don't know if this is normal and the IntarNetz isn't helping.

When I ride for more than about 15 minutes, my left hand starts to get numb. If it's longer than 30, I completely lose feeling in my thumb and next two fingers.

I thought it was because I was nervous and gripping the bar too panicky-like, but I'm pretty sure I'm not using a death grip. Just in case, I changed my grip so that I'm basically only touching the damned thing to engage the clutch, but I still get the numbness.

Does anyone else have this? Is this an issue with my SR, which is now in the running for this year's "best personal massage device for ladies" contest? Or is there a way to adjust my grip/buy new gloves that will help?

How is your handle bar? Which angle?..maybe to much waight on your wrist that can compress some nerves ?....

Never experience anything like that...
    Hope u figure out what's going on

Quote Originally Posted by Diabolik View Post
    How is your handle bar? Which angle?..maybe to much waight on your wrist that can compress some nerves ?....

Never experience anything like that...
    Hope u figure out what's going on
    It's at the stock angle, so it's pretty high. I thought it was a weight thing too, but I moved a bit forward in my seat and changed the brake and clutch pedal angle so it would be more comfortable even further forward. Now there's basically no weight on my hands, though my thighs are getting a great workout from clutching the tank.

I hope I figure it out too. I don't want to have reached my dream of owning a bike only to find out I'm somehow genetically incapable of riding one.

If it's a vibration issue perhaps some bar end weights would help.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Cash View Post

I can get those at any bike shop?